The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) is a UN specialized agency, established by Member States in 1944 to manage the administration and governance of the Convention on International Civil Aviation (Chicago Convention).

ICAO works with the Convention’s 191 Member States and industry groups to reach a consensus on international civil aviation Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) and policies to support a safe, efficient, secure, economically sustainable and environmentally responsible civil aviation sector. These SARPs and policies are followed by ICAO Member States to ensure that their local civil aviation operations and regulations conform to global norms, which in turn permits more than 100,000 daily flights in aviation’s global network to operate safely and reliably in every region of the world.

In addition to its core work establishing consensus-driven international SARPs and policies among its Member States and the industry, ICAO also supports numerous capacity-building and aviation development initiatives, including:

-Producing global plans to coordinate multilateral strategic progress for safety and air navigation
-Monitoring and reporting on numerous air transport sector performance metrics
-Auditing States’ civil aviation oversight capabilities in the areas of safety and security

-Annual Reports of the Council
-Chicago Convention
-Former Presidents of the ICAO Council
-Former Secretaries General of ICAO
-Foundation of ICAO
-International Civil Aviation Conference
-How it works
-Making a Standard